

## **NEWS RELEASE CITY OF JONESVILLE**

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## JONESVILLE CITY COUNCIL HOLDS ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

On Wednesday, November 20<sup>th</sup>, the Jonesville City Council held its organizational meeting following the general election. Clerk Cindy Means administered the oath of office to Mayor Gerry Arno, who ran unopposed and will serve for a two-year term. Arno was first elected Mayor in 2016 and has previously served on the Village Council and City Council.

Means also administered the oath to Council members Dean Adair, Andy Penrose, and Annette Sands. The trio will serve a four-year term on the City Council. Adair and Sands are newcomers to the Council. Penrose has served since 2010; he was chosen by his peers on Council to serve as the Mayor Pro Tem for two years.

The City Council also said goodbye to former Mayor Pro Tem Delesha Padula. Mayor Arno presented a Proclamation on behalf of the Council recognizing Padula's Council service, as well as having served as a member of the Council Budget and Personnel Committees.

Padula was recognized with a standing ovation. She noted that it had been "an honor and pleasure to serve the citizens of Jonesville." Padula had served on Council since her appointment in 2018; she won re-election to a four-year term in 2020.

Other administrative actions of the organizational meeting included appointment of several citizens to new terms on City boards and commissions, and City Council committee appointments. The Council also received the June 30, 2024 audit report, with Bailey, Hodshire & Co. P.C. informing the Council that it was pleased to offer a clean, unmodified opinion regarding the City's finances and accounting practices.

###

## Photos:

Oath of Office – Arno2.jpg – Jonesville City Clerk Cindy Means administers the oath of office to Mayor Gerry Arno as members of the City Council look on. Photo credit: Windy Spencer

Oath of Office - Adair Penrose Sands 2a.jpg - Jonesville City Clerk Cindy Means administers the oath of office to the recently elected members of the City Council. Pictured (standing, I to r):

Council Member Annette Sands, Council Member Andy Penrose, Clerk Cindy Means, Council Member Dean Adair; (seated, I to r): Council Members George Humpries, Jr., Brenda Guyse, Chris Grider, and Mayor Gerry Arno. Photo credit: Windy Spencer

<u>Proclamation – Padula 1a.jpg</u> – Mayor Gerry Arno presents a proclamation to Delesha Padula, recognizing her years of service on the City Council.

Contact Information: Jeff Gray, City Manager 265 E. Chicago Street Jonesville, MI 49250 (517) 849-2104 (517) 849-9037 fax jgray@jonesville.org